Japanese Chicken Popcorn

JAPANESE CHICKEN POPCORN

Hello All!!! It’s Christmas time and we are about to start a new year with full of new things awaiting for us, both bad and good I guess. I feel nostalgic on the last week of every year. So much happened and so much of alike is awaiting….it’s pretty scary at times. Yet I take pride to see myself and my family and friends and almost the whole human race gearing up themselves for fresh new fights for survival. It’s not that easy to stop human beings from living life no matter what, be it natural calamities or man-made ones striking back again and again. At times, it really feels scary to see life becoming so unpredictable. But then Life is all about that and much more and beyond mere words.

Anyway, today my recipe is inspired from a video, that I recently came across in Facebook. There is a page there named Tasty. I am a follower as it shares international food videos with easy techniques…well Almost easy!! I thought why not try it out at home as my son is a fan of chicken popcorn.  Thus made this Japanese Chicken Popcorn. It was very tasty and am sure a crowd and kids pleasure too. I did have to do some changes in order to suit me. But the end result was crispy and juicy meat with a smile of satisfaction on my son’s face. 

So here it goes, hopd you all like it!!!

INGREDIENTS: 

Chicken – 3 Thighs cut into small pieces.

Soya Sauce – 2 tbsp

Ginger paste – 2 tbsp

Garlic paste – 2 tbsp

Seasame Oil – 1 tbsp

Sugar – 1 tsp

Rice Wine Vinegar – 1tbsp

Water- 3 tbsp

Salt and Black Pepper for seasonings

Cornflour – 1 cup

White Oil to deep fry

PROCEDURE: 

1. In a bowl, mix soya sauce, ginger and garlic paste, salt and black pepper, seasame oil in the above mentioned quantity with the boneless chicken properly. Now in a bowl mix 1tbsp rice wine vinegar with 3 tbsp water and mix it in the chicken marinade properly.

2. Let it chill for 1 hour.

3. After an hour, take it out and add the cornflour into the chicken and just mix it in as in coating them just enough. 

4. Now heat enough oil to deep fry in a deep bottom pan. First fry the chicken pieces until it turns a bit light golden. Then take them out and let it rest for 5 minutes. 

5. Now again put it in the oil until totally crispy and golden brown. 

6. Get rid of the excess oil in tissue papers and serve it hot with lime wedges on the side. 

P.S. I kept the recipe mostly same other than not using Sake as it was not there in my kitchen. So I searched in Google and found out this easy substitute of Sake Sauce. I mixed 1 tbsp of sake to 3 tbsp of water and mixed it up in the marinade in place of Sake. Another thing is in the original recipe, they used potato starch. But as I couldn’t find it in local stores, I replaced it with cornflour. Those who can get hold of potatoe starch and Sake Sauce, then please use them only. 
I followed this recipe from a facebook page “TASTY” ,which share interesting recipe videos and tickle our tastebud along with our hunger.

Do follow this Page Tasty in facebook, if you are interested to see more and more unique yet simple dishes. 

Thanks for being patient for my recipe blog posts. Yes I post real late but that’s just for my routinous job. That’s not an excuse stilll!!! Hope you guys like it. Will try to be more active from now on. Do share, like and comment and do follow my blog and facebook page Improv and Explore . I am already overjoyed with much appreciation from everyone of you out there. Wish to create more recipes and grab more love and affection from you all.

Till then Au Revoir,

And Thank You All,

Warm Regards and much love

Pamela Sarkar.

Leave a Reply

