RABBIT MASALA CURRY

Hola people!!! Today I am going to fill you all up with a recipe of an interesting protein choice. Well the main protein of this recipe is Rabbit Meat. Yes I know you must be very much shocked that how can I use Rabbit meat in a recipe and how can Rabbit meat be eaten. But but but …. let me tell you that rabbit meat is very much consumed all over the world. So I thought why not try it out!! I believe in experimenting so does my husband and son. 

Actually, recently me with my family, were catching up an episode of My Kitchen Rules Australia Season 7 and there I came across the idea of using and consuming rabbit meat. Initially I was sceptic about it honestly. Moreover, even though I was surprised and curious but then thought where in Kolkata , can I get rabbit meat. The other day , my son Rik showed interest about eating rabbit meat and as i was checking Big Basket Meat section for some rich lamb pieces came across two interesting protein choices. one was Rabbit meat and the other , meat of Quail. So without further delay, I promptlt ordered both up along some lamb cuts and got them delivered on Sunday. I usually cook mutton on sundays…a weekly family tradition. So hubby said to cook up this Rabbit meat. 

I searched several websites for good recipes where i can use rabbit meat as the main protein. After much research,chalked down three sites. What i came across were mostly all Indian Masala Curry Style and those three sites showed many similarities. So keeping them pinned in my device I geared myself up, rolled my sleeves up and came to action. First I cleaned the rabbit meat and deboned small bones keeping the major ones intact. Then anxiously marinated and then cooked it up. It took a good amount of time as it takes pretty much more time to cook than chicken. 

Actually, Rabbit meat are a very good option of protein for people who suffer from cholestrol, diabetes or heart diseases, as this meat doesn’t contain any fat and lean. So it’s actually a healthy choice to incorporate rabbit meat in diet. But of course, it’s lack of availability, is a problem. Anyway lets get back to the recipe that we will be discussing today. This recipe is highly inspired from two blogs- “The Lady 8 Home” and “The Curry Guy”. This is my version with my portions following these blogs. Hope you enjoy the Post!!!
INGREDIENTS :

Rabbit Meat – 50gm, cut into pieces

For Marinade:

Turmeric Powder – 1/2 tsp

Red Chilli Powder – 1tsp

Lemon – 1 squeezed properly 

Salt – 1tsp

Ginger Garlic Paste : 1tbsp

Hung Curd – 3 tbsp

Tempering:

Oil – I mixed white oil, mustard oil and ghee (2:1:1)

Caraway Seeds – 1/2tsp

Cumin Seeds – 1/2 tsp

Bay leaves – 2

Green Cardamon – 3 pieces

Black Cardamon – 1 piece 

Cinnamon Stick – 1/2 inch

For Curry or Gravy:

Tomato – 1 large chopped

Onion – 1 large finely sliced

Shahi Garam Masala Powder – 1 tsp

Water- 1 glass hot water

Salt for seasoning

Black Pepper a pinch or two

Make a paste of:

Onion – 1 small

Garlic – 6 pods

Ginger – 1 inch

Green Chillies – 3/4 pieces

Make a paste of Masala:

1 tbsp Cumin Seeds roasted and grounded

1tbsp Coriander seeds roasted and grounded

1tsp Red Chilli Powder/Kashmirilal/Cayene Pepper

1/2 cup White Oil

To Garnish:

Slitted Green Chillies – 2 or 3

Handful of chopped coriander leaves

PROCEDURE :

1. Clean the rabbit meat properly and take out small bones from the pieces if possible. Game meats usually have small bones here and there. 

2. Now marinate the rabbit meat with the ingredients mentioned under Marinade section above.Keep it aside for minimum 1 hour.

3. Now after an hour, heat the wok and put the oil and heat it too. Now temper the oil with the ingredients mentioned under the Tempering Section above.

4. Now fry the onions till golden.

5. Add the marinated rabbit meat in the wok and fry till brown, gently so that the onions didn’t burn.

6. Fry the onion ginger garlic green chilli paste. Fry till the oil runs clear.

7. Add the chopped tomatoes and fry till it softens.

8. Now add the masala paste mentioned above and the garam masala. Mix well and stir all of these for 4 minutes.

9. At this point, stir in the hung curd and mix well. Lower the flame and cook for 5 minutes properly. Season it with salt amd black pepper.

10. Now add the water. Bring it to one boil and lower the flame again and let it simmer on low for one hour minimum. Add more water if you need more gravy. If you are cooking in a pressure cooker, cook it for 20 to 30 minutes. Rabbit meat takes time to cook. To check, you can slice through the deepest part of a big piece. If it seems pink then it needs to be cooked for more time. Do keep in mind that sometimes rabbit meat tends to be dry and chewy. So donot rush cook this protein. Give some love in cooking this.

11. Garnish it with chopped coriander and slitted green chillies. You can serve it with Indian Flat bread(roti) and Rice too!!! 

P.S. If you want your curry to be spicy and hot then you can add more chillies in the paste as well as while frying onions.
I had a hearty meal in a very homely style!! The steel plate and on that the Rabbit Meat Masala Curry with homemade Rotis with green chillies. You can add up some diced onions too!!! Nothing feels so good as the comfort food in these winters.

Happy Winters!!!!

This was an experimental dish and I was fully concentrated into it to make it a cracker dish thus not many pics i got yo click. Only few last minute ones!!! And very simple hearty original presentation that i clicked by my Samsung 6 Edge Camera!!! I blog for my own reasons and for my passion for food and to let people know how easy cooking could be. I blog to show my cooking skills and not my photography skills. I am not much into garnishing. I believe to display what I am like in general on a daily basis so i don’t use fancy stuff to play dress up with my food. But trust they are full of flavours and as authentic as it could be in flavours too else it wouldn’t be on my post lists at all. 

I know eating various kinds of proteins are not everyone’s forte. But what I believe is that its all in our mind. And in general if we can get rid of these mental blocks, then i think our life in this world would be much easier everyday. I would say, try out new things in life, be it food or life choices. This is one life and live it at its fullest. You never know what’s there in the future. So break free, live free and breathe!!! I am typing this out while waiting for my son’s McDonald’s Happy Meal which is beside his Doctor’s clinic, where we came for his routine health checkup!!! 

Here comes our Mc D!!!!Gotta go!! Hunger pangs!!! 

It’s me signing off now!! Catch you all soon!! Do go through the post and like, share and comment positively. Hope you like what i offered!!! Do try and lemme know!!! Like my Facebook Page Improv and Explore!!! Spread and shower more love Folks!!!

Much love and wishes!!! Pam!!!

Cioa!!! Until then…

XOXO

One thought on “RABBIT MASALA CURRY

Leave a Reply

