FISH FINGERS….THE EASY RECIPE!

  
Hello friends. I was not at all in any mood to cook delicacies or even post it in my blog for the last few months, as I was on a diet spree after getting inspired from few of my friends. But for the last couple of days, I was feeling a lot depressed and sad. And I thought what the hell, stuff are stocked in the freezer for so long and like calling me and asking me to do something about them, and here I am going on dieting. Honestly in my mundane monotonous life, cooking acts like a stress buster for me. So I took out the fillets and cooked this mouth watering fish fingers up. Enough of whining now coming to the recipe, I would like to share that I have used Basa fillets here. But you all can use bhetki fillets too instead of Basa ones. 

RECIPE OF FISH FINGERS:

Ingredients:-

Basa fillet: 1 whole fillet ( cut into like 15-20 thin strips as per your desired length, just be        sure they shouldn’t be too thick in width)

Ginger-Garlic Paste: 1 1/2 tbsp

Lemon Juice: 2 tbsp ( you can use vinegar too)

Coriander Paste: 1 tsp

Kashmiri Red Chilli Powder: 1/2 tsp

Fish Sauce: 1 tbsp (optional, if you don’t have it at home you can skip it, I had so I used it and moreover I love fish sauce and almost add it in everything)

Black Pepper Powder: 1 tsp

Salt: as per taste

Egg: 1 whole egg beaten 

Biscuit Crumbs: 200grams

Vegetable oil to deep fry them

You can add ajinomoto if you wish to, I didn’t as I have a kid to share the meal with.

Procedure:

Marinate the thin strips of Basa with ginger-garlic paste, lemon juice, salt, coriander paste, black pepper powder and Kashmiri Red Chilli Powder. Refrigerate it for minimum 30 minutes. Even though mine was kept for a day or two as I marinated it beforehand. Another thing try to taste the marination in order to check the salt content in the strips.

  
Anyways in the mean time beat an egg in a bowl and keep it aside. Many add a pinch of salt in the egg. I didn’t. But you definitely can. It all depends on your own taste buds.

  
On a flat plate spread the bread crumbs ( not all of it, say half at first and you can add the rest later as per requirements). 

  
Now after 30 minutes take out the marinated fish fillets. Then dip the strips one by one into the beaten egg first and then lay it on the bed of bread crumbs. Repeat the same procedure for the next fellow strips. Make a batch of five to eight strips at a time depending on the size of plate you are taking in order to spread the bread crumbs. The larger the plate , the number of strips you can increase on it. Now after putting them on the bread crumbs, first wash your fingers and palms and dry them up thoroughly on a towel. Then coat the strips with more crumbs from the plate, cover each strip with bread crumbs all over them. Now take each bread crumbs coated strip on your palm and roll it on your palm from left to right motion, giving the shape of a finger. Yes it will take a bit of a time and patience but hold on to that and practise it to give the perfect shape of a fish finger. Maintain the length and work on making it even everywhere.

  I hope these images will help you all in understanding the shape. By the way, I need to add here that many people do a double layering in order to make it thicker, but I along with my husband prefer it like this, i. e., thin coating, to maintain the taste of the fish. 
After finishing the shaping process, put these in the freezer for say fifteen minutes. Basically, these coated strips are shaped and these might break due to their softness. So in order to maintain the size and shape, it’s advisable to put them inside the freezer, to maintain a firm shape.

In the mean time, pour oil in a low bottom pan and heat it till ready for deep frying them. Now take out the finger strips. Check the oil whether it’s ready or not . If the oil is ready then start dipping the strips into the oil one by one.

  
As it was marinated for a good amount of time and as fish doesn’t take much time to get cooked, so it won’t take much time to get cooked. Just wait for the golden colour that should be spread almost evenly all around the strip.

  
Take it out say after five to seven minutes in high. Lower the flame if you think the colour is changing to black. So be careful and don’t just put them on flame and start hallucinating. Once out, you should get rid of the excess oil after keeping them on the paper towels. Now serve them on a plate with dips or sauces as per your own choice. Mine was red chilli sauce. Add some salad like ringed onions and cucumber slices with sprigs of coriander along with it. 

So this is my version of Fish Finger. Inspired by my mom’s recipes that I used to eat from my childhood. My mom used to do it with bhetki fillet but I did some twists and turns yet it tastes the same. 

So bye for now. But I promise to be back with more interesting and easy recipes. 

Eat, eat and eat as this is one life and we got one shot to enjoy and live to fullest. No point wasting and depriving yourself from the beauties of life.

God Bless.

4 thoughts on “FISH FINGERS….THE EASY RECIPE!

Leave a Reply

